If you are required to register as a sex offender, there are certain rules and procedures you need to remember at all times. Failure to register properly can result in a charge for an indictable offense. If you are charged and convicted, you may never be relieved of your registration and supervision obligations, even if you meet all of the other requirements. As New Jersey Megan’s Law attorneys, we are fully familiar with these obligations, and frequently defend those accused of violating them. What follows is a brief summary of some of the more common registration procedures and issues. Since every case is different, a Megan’s Law lawyer in New Jersey should be consulted concerning unique issues and situations.
As a general rule, registration involves notifying the local police department that the offender resides, or intends to reside, in that municipality. Offenders who have been incarcerated must register prior to their release. If a New Jersey offender works or goes to school out of State but still resides in New Jersey, they are still required to register in the State where they work or go to school, following all non-resident registration procedures. Offenders who come to New Jersey from other States must notify the police department, or the New Jersey State Police, where they are going to reside within 10 days of arriving here. This time frame also applies to offenders who are moving to another municipality. Like offenders moving to New Jersey from another State, they have 10 days to notify the local police department that they now live there.
Offenders must re-register and verify their address with the local police department on an annual basis. The time frame for this requirement is measured from the date of the offender’s initial registration or most recent re-registration resulting from a change of address, and not from the date that the offender first appeared at the police department to verify their address. If the offender was found to be repetitive and compulsive and served a sentenced at the Adult Diagnostic and Treatment Center in Avenel (“ADTC”), they must verify their address with local law enforcement every 90 days.
Additional rules and procedures apply to offenders who are either enrolled at, or employed by, higher education institutions. If they are a full-time or part-time student, they must notify the institution of their status when they enroll there. If they work at the institution for more than 14 consecutive days or an aggregate period of 30 days in a calendar year, on either a full-time or part-time basis, with or without a salary, they must notify the institution of their status before commencing employment. If the institution has its own law enforcement agency (e.g., Rutgers University Police Department), they must notify that agency within 10 days of starting school or work. If their status as a student or employee changes, they must notify all law enforcement agencies with which they register within 5 days of the change.
Individuals who are required to register as sex offenders in other jurisdictions and attend school in New Jersey, or work in New Jersey for either 14 consecutive days or an aggregate period of 30 days in any calendar year, must register with the law enforcement agency of the municipality where their school or workplace is located with 10 days of starting school or work.
The registration rules and procedures are complex. Registrants need to remember that the failure to register is a third degree offense, and the failure of someone who served a sentence at the ADTC to register is a fourth degree offense. As noted above, a conviction for failure to register can permanently block termination of your Megan’s Law and parole supervision for life obligations. A seasoned parole supervision for life lawyer in New Jersey can advise you on all registration issues, and defend you if you are charged with failure to register.
James S. Friedman, Esq., is a Megan’s Law attorney in New Brunswick, New Jersey who defends individuals charged with sex offenses, as well as offenders seeking to terminate their registration and supervision requirements, in all counties throughout New Jersey. If you have been charged with failure to register, contact Mr. Friedman immediately to learn how to prevent this from keeping you on Megan’s Law and parole supervision for life permanently. If you have completed your 15 years, call Mr. Friedman to learn how to have your obligations terminated. The firm can be reached at 800-361-6554. Our website can also be viewed at www.jfriedlawfirm.com.